Home > About reading > To sheer enjoyment. Cheers!

To sheer enjoyment. Cheers!

January 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve just started to read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows and I wanted to share this :

That’s what I love about reading: one tiny thing will interest you in a book, and that tiny thing will lead you on another book, and another bit there will lead you to a third book. It’s geometrically progressive — and with no end in sight, and for no other reason than sheer enjoyment.

I couldn’t have said it better. This book sounds lovely.

Categories: About reading
  1. January 14, 2011 at 3:51 am

    I’m interested in your take on this. It’s very popular in America.

    Like

    • January 14, 2011 at 8:45 am

      It’s promising, I like epistolary novels too.
      Btw, No Orchids for Miss Blandish was great, despite the noisy interference of the translation. I still haven’t understood the title though.

      Like

  2. January 14, 2011 at 6:59 am

    I am also interested. I read it when it came out as I am sucker for epistolary novels… but read Pancol’s Un homme a distance, Kressman Taylor and 84, Charing Cross Road right after it… Now I have forgotten the content. I am looking forward to your review… It will refresh my memory…

    Like

    • January 14, 2011 at 8:50 am

      I’ve only read ten pages because I need some sleep but I put it down reluctantly. And as I have the English version, I’m reading slowly.
      I’ve read Les yeux jaunes des crocodiles and La valse lente des tortues and I liked them both. It’s good chick lit. How was Un Homme à distance ? Is it different?

      Like

  3. January 14, 2011 at 8:56 am

    It’s not really chick lit… I haven’t read anything else by her. Un homme à distance is nice as they write about books only and she has a huge list of titles that I had to get as they sounded interesting and not much known. The end was somewhat surprising and spoilt the novel alittle bit for me. I did review it, it was one of the first reviews on my blog. It’s very slim, read it one day.

    Like

    • January 14, 2011 at 9:09 am

      That’s interesting. I’ll read your review.
      If you want to read a book about books, try Au Bon Roman, by Laurence Cossé. There’s a review on Guy’s blog, on Tom’s blog (A Common Reader) and on mine. If you read it, don’t bother writing down the books she talks about, I’ve published the list on my reading list page. That’s how I discovered Novel with Cocaine. And that’s how Guy discovered Madame Solario, I think.

      Like

  4. January 14, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    That’s how I move from book to book. There’s no real pattern, but a puts me in the mood for b which then makes me read c by way of contrast which then tempts me to d…

    Like

  5. January 14, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Yeah, I guess that’s what I do as well… Will read your review(s)…

    Like

    • January 14, 2011 at 6:06 pm

      It’s still promising. I love how she breaks up with her fiance because he retreived her books from the shelves to store them in the basement and put sport trophees instead. It’s a good thing for him that my non-reader husband never fancied to do that.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love to hear your thoughts, thanks for commenting. Comments in French are welcome

