Home > 21st Century, Austrian Literature, Beach and Public Transports Books, Epistolary Fiction, Glattauer Daniel > Cyber Crush 2 The Battle: Marshmallow against Cotton Candy

Cyber Crush 2 The Battle: Marshmallow against Cotton Candy

Every Seventh Wave by Daniel Glattauer, the sequel of Love Virtually. Original title : Alle Sieben Wellen. Translated into French by La septième vague.

After reading Love Virtually, I lent my copy to a colleague, who liked it and bought the sequel. I’m not sure I would have read it otherwise. This is how I ended up reading Every Seventh Wave on a train, on my way back from Paris.

I was curious to read about Emmi and Leo again. I knew from Caroline’s review that maybe writing a sequel wasn’t a good idea as the ending of Love Virtually was perfect. I agree and as often when I write reviews I have a song in mind. This time, it’s a French song by Anaïs and the following  lyrics really express my feeling about this book:     

Ça dégouline d’amour It drips with love,
C’est beau mais c’est insupportable. It’s lovely but unbearable
C’est un pudding bien lourd It’s a very heavy pudding
De mots doux à chaque phrase Of love words at every sentence
“Elle est bonne ta quiche, amour” “Your quiche is good, love”
“Mon cœur, passe moi la salade” “Sweetheart, pass me the salad”
Et ça se fait des mamours, And they cuddle
Se donne la becquée à table. Feed each other during meals
Ce mélange de sentiments This mix of feelings
Aromatisé aux fines herbes Flavored with fines herbes
Me fait sourire gentiment Makes me gently smile
Et finalement me donne la gerbe ! But in the end makes me puke!

Since I’d rather spend time writing something – if possible intelligent – about What Maisie Knew or keep on reading Witches Sabbath or Money, I suggest that anyone interested in a serious review of Every Seventh Wave read Caroline’s prose, which is better than mine.

  1. April 16, 2011 at 2:55 am

    I would know to pass on this one even if I didn’t see that last line of the song.

    Like

    • April 16, 2011 at 8:04 am

      Where’s your gravatar ??? That purple automatic thing isn’t you.

      Two good things for you in this review : 1) your TBR pile didn’t increase 2) you now know one way to say “puke” in French.

      Like

  2. April 16, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    I see that you didn’t like the idea of the sequel same as I didn’t but the books are similar. I didn’t think this was much different just spoilt the perfect ending of the last.

    Like

    • April 16, 2011 at 3:46 pm

      I don’t think the books are similar. In the first one, the ending was perfect and the way the characters were driven to this ending wasn’t romantic at all.
      This one is full of “My Emmi”, my love, my sweetheart, all cheesy things I dislike. The point in the hand was definitely a weak point of the book for me.
      I finished it because I was on a train and too tired to read the Sachs. This one is good and I didn’t want to loose anything from it by reading while a part of my brain was off.

      Like

  1. April 17, 2011 at 1:10 pm

I love to hear your thoughts, thanks for commenting. Comments in French are welcome

