Home > Book Club > Book Club Les Copines d’Abord: December readalong

Book Club Les Copines d’Abord: December readalong

November 17, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

For December, the book club Les Copines d’Abord will read The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark.

I am curious to discover Muriel Spark and I expect an enjoyable read. The only thing I know about the book is that Miss Brodie is a teacher and that Muriel Spark used her own teacher as a model. As I’ve said before, I love blind dates with books, films and plays…as long as they come recommended by someone I trust. Knowing that and also all the spoilers you can find in reviews and blurbs, I didn’t investigate further and will open the book with a clean mind.  I also love surprises.

We will meet on December 29 and I’ll post my review on that day. We’d be happy to read other reviews and have other readers join us. If you’re interested, let me know in the comments. You can add the link to your review in the comments or post your it there if you don’t have a blog.

 I hope some of you will be reading this along with us.

Categories: Book Club
  1. November 18, 2011 at 4:40 am

    I’ve read several Spark novels, and while I rank her highly as an author, this is not my favourite Spark novel. I think my opinion is at odds with most people though, as this novel always comes up as the one to read.

    Like

    • November 18, 2011 at 9:40 am

      At least it’s known as a good book. See you in December with the review!

      Like

  2. November 18, 2011 at 7:26 am

    I loved it but I have also read a few others that I liked a lot too.

    Like

    • November 18, 2011 at 9:42 am

      We had to start with one, none of us had read Spark before.
      Since you loved it and it isn’t in a field I don’t particularly enjoy (i.e. ghost stories for example), there’s a good chance that I’ll have great moments with this novel too.

      Like

  3. November 21, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    Chalk me up as someone else who loves it. I’m looking forward to your thoughts, whatever they may be.

    Like

    • November 21, 2011 at 5:07 pm

      That’s good to know. Three valuable recommendations, I can’t wait to get my copy! It’s in the post somewhere between England and France,I ordered it in English.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love to hear your thoughts, thanks for commenting. Comments in French are welcome

